single,single-post,postid-16085,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,columns-3,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

CONNECTIONS | Germany-New York

Thursday, February 5, 2015 at 6PM

German Consulate General New York
871 United Nations Plaza, New York, NY 10017

$5 (http://www.eventbrite.com/e/ensemble-mise-en-make-contemporary-music-a-hit-re-schedule-tickets-15539215211)

CONNECTIONS: Germany-New York

The concert will feature the works of both German and New York City based composers. It will not only provide the audience a special musical experience, but it will also challenge the power of classical music in a contemporary scene. As co-sponsors, the German Consulate and ensemble mise-en want to spread the concept of contemporary music and make it a hit in New York City.

New York composer Gordon Beeferman will present his “mini sonata for piano solo”. The piece “Les Adieux for 2 violins” is the work of German pianist and composer Friedrich Heinrich Kern, followed by “A new piece for flute, clarinet, trombone, piano, violin, cello and contrabass” composed by Jan Feddersen from Hamburg. Federico Camara Halac’s “A new solo for clarinet and bass clarinet” will showcase the US talent. Hailing from Karlsruhe, Germany, composer Stephan Schneider will bring ”A new piece for flute, clarinet, trombone, violin, cello, contrabass and small percussion” to the consulate’s stage and last but not least, New York-based composer Moon Young Ha will present his “scène v for piano”.

About ensemble mise-en:
Ensemble mise-en promotes large-scale composition projects and intense performances of contemporary and new music in New York City. The fifteen-plus member ensemble has the breadth of a “chamber orchestra”, but defies the associated hierarchies of power, developing collective long-term programming and performance goals that interrogate canonicity in the contemporary scene.

The concert is in part supported by the Hamburg Art Council.

Online ticket sales only, no at the door sales. Ticket sales are final, no refunds. Please arrive at least 15 minutes prior start time of the event. Out of respect for the artists and fellow concert goers, doors will close promptly.

Gordon Beeferman: mini sonata for piano solo (2007/2010)
Friedrich Heinrich Kern:Les Adieux for 2 violins (2012, Rev. 2013)
Jan Feddersen: TBD (2014) *World premiere
Federico Cámara-Halac: Venas for Bass Clarinet (2014) *World premiere
Stephan Marc Schneider: TBD (2014) *World premiere
Moon Young HA: scène v for piano (2014)