ENSEMBLE MISE-EN | Season Concert I
single,single-post,postid-16019,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,columns-3,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

Season Concert I

the cell
338 W 23rd St., New York, NY 10011

Free Admission

Younghi Pagh-Paan: Wundgeträumt for flute, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola and cello (2004/05, US premiere)
Kaija Saariaho: Duft for solo clarinet (2011, US premiere)
Yoon-ji Lee: Contact Place after Pina Baush for electric guitar concerto (2012, world premiere)
Tonia Ko: Sunken Sky for chamber orchestra (2012, world premiere)
Beat Furrer: Voicelessness (The Snow Has No Voice) for piano solo (1986)

On Wednesday, December 19 at 8pm, the CELL THEATRE in Chelsea will present New York contemporary music collective ensemble mise-en in their first season concert. This free concert will include two US premieres by widely-esteemed women composers Kaija Saariaho and Younghi Pagh-paan, two world premieres by New York-based composers Yoon-Ji Lee and Tonia Ko, and a Beat Furrer piece inspired by the feminist poetry of Sylvia Plath.

This concert offers a unique cultural experience by showcasing feminist voices through music. One of the ensemble’s goals is to consistently highlight the sounds and musical ideas of other cultures and bring the these experiences to our diverse audiences. Younghi Pagh-paan’s distinct Korean-German voice is heard through her chamber work Wundgeträumt, and Austrian composer Beat Furrer channels the emotions of Sylvia Plath’s poetry in his piano solo Voicelessness. These works, along with Kaija Saariaho’s clarinet solo Duft and the two world premieres, are examples of musical opportunities that are quite rare, even in New York. The ensemble and the cell theatre are excited to offer such an enriching and exciting concert, with free admission, as well as a reception afterwards with beverages provided by the Brooklyn Brewery.